“Man Flu” Soup

IMG_6303 (Small)

So gracias to a co-worker of mine I’ve been feeling a bit under the weather.  Yes, that means man flu.  The number one symptom of man flu is whining and thinking your going to die, when it’s really just a puny little cold.  Guilty as charged.  Nothing makes you feel a bit better when your a bit down than some nice spicy soup (winning the lottery aside).  I made a couple of pots of this the past few days and I’m starting to feel right as rain.  It really should be called “I threw whatever I had in my fridge soup”, but I thought this title was more fitting.  Anyway, here it goes.

Man Flu Soup

1 Cup Green Cabbage, shredded

2 Cloves Garlic, minced

1 Inch Fresh Ginger, minced

1/2 Serrano Pepper. minced

1 Medium Onion, sliced

1/2 Cubanelle Pepper, sliced

1 1/2 Cups Chicken Stock

1 1/2 Cups Water

2 Tsp Soy Sauce

1 Tsp Siracha

1 Tsp White Vinegar (or Rice Vinegar)

1 Tbsp Vegetable Oil

1 Cup Shredded Pork (cooked)

Garnish with Sliced Green Onions

In a medium saucepan, heat 1 Tbsp vegetable oil over medium heat, sautee garlic, ginger, and hot pepper for 1 minute.  Add onions and peppers, cook for 2 minutes, add cabbage, cook 2 more minutes.  Add stock, water, soy, siracha, and vinegar, simmer for  7-8 minutes.  Add pork, simmer for about 4 minutes, taste, top with green onions and serve.  The whining should reduce soon after consumption.  This will yield 3-4 bowls of soup.  Cheers.

Categories: Main Courses, Side Dishes | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , | 7 Comments

Post navigation

7 thoughts on ““Man Flu” Soup

  1. Looks great!

  2. Sounds yummy. I’m all for feeding a cold!

  3. Does the soup work as well on women??

  4. supersnappyphoto

    Yeah man, I’m sick too. Gonna make this. Gonna feel better. Yeah man, gonna feel better.

  5. I am a woman but man-flu soup sounds just the thing for both sexes! Sounds divine!

Let me know what you think!

Blog at WordPress.com.

Bowen Appétit

Classic, sustainable fare for real life

Bunny Eats Design

Happy things, tasty food and good design

The Best Beer Ever

Beer, Spirits, Alcohol

ENTRÉE the GIANT

Small in Stature, Big in Appetite

Currydemonology

Curry Coz you can !

REMCooks

My Virtual Cookbook to Share My Love and Joy of Food and Cooking One Recipe at a Time

A HUNGRY FOX

Bitches eating way too much and blogging unnecessarily about it.

Trident Hunter

Spearhunting to the Max

veggiezest

Vegan & Vegetarian recipes from around the world

Case of the Munchies

Got a Serious Case of the munchies?... You do now.

Hot, Cheap & Easy

Of course you can cook. Just follow me!

KolorBlind Mag

The equality & acceptance of all races/ethnicities; the promotion of the Interracial/multiracial life through culture, fashion, language and food…

Q2 Solutions PPE with Rick

I help people find the PPE items that are, well...hard to find.

Rantings of an Amateur Chef

Food...cooking...eating....tools - What works, and what doesn't!