Caribbean Meatballs

Caribbean Meatballs with Island Spiced Potatoes

It’s election day in the US, and with every possible form of media jamming last minute political ads down your throat, perhaps you need to get in the kitchen and make something crazy to cover up the taste.  Give yourself a little island getaway from the comfort of your own table.

I remember meatballs being a popular meal choice in my home growing up.  Well, popular for everyone except me.  I never really enjoyed meatballs until I started making them for myself.  I usually like to make “albondigas”, which are Spanish tapas style meatballs.  For this entry, I thought I would try something a bit different.  I really enjoyed the Island Spiced Burgers I made a few weeks ago, and I used a bit of that concept in this recipe.  I always find making meatballs to be a labor of love (a.k.a. pain in the @$$), but in this case it was definitely worth the effort.  This will serve 4.

Caribbean Meatballs

1 lb Ground Beef

1/4 Cup Bread Crumbs

1 Egg Yolk

Vegetable oil

Spice Paste

6 Cloves

2 Cloves Garlic

1 Green Onion

1 Inch Ginger, fresh

1/2 Onion Minced

1 Stick Cinnamon

1 Tbsp Orange Juice

1 Tbsp White Rum

1 Tbsp Veg. Oil

1 Tbsp White Vinegar

Start by making the spice paste in a food processor (I use a magic bullet style blender).  Combine all ingredients and process until smooth.  In a large stainless steel bowl combine the beef with half the spice paste, 1/4 cup of bread crumbs, and 1 egg yolk.  Mix well, roll meatballs in hand to roughly 1 inch diameter.  Heat a large frying pan with vegetable oil, add meatballs rolling them clockwise/counterclockwise to retain shape and prevent them from sticking.  When browned on all sides, remove and let them rest on a paper towel.

Sauce

8 oz Can Tomato Sauce

Reserved Spice Paste

2 Tbsp Coconut Milk

Sea Salt & Pepper

Cayenne Pepper to taste

1 1/2 Tsp Agave Nectar

In a medium saucepan combine all ingredients and simmer on low heat.  Add the meatballs and cook for 5-7 minutes.  Serve.

Making these meatballs can be slightly labor intensive, but they have a creamy, tangy wonderfulness to them.  They go well with Island Spiced Potatoes.  For a full spread, think about serving with Coconut Rice or Coleslaw to cool down the heat.

Categories: Main Courses | Tags: , , , , , , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Caribbean Meatballs

  1. Wow, sounds delicious. I’ve only recently started to make meatballs as I worked as a butcher’s assistant years ago, so I know the stuff (as in stuff I’m being polite) that goes into sausage meat – for years I wouldn’t touch the stuff! Love your spice paste in this.

    • The spice paste is good stuff. A friend of mine also worked in a butcher’s shop… I believe he said “lips and %$^holes” went into the hot dogs/sausages. Ouch. Thanks for stopping by. Cheers.

Let me know what you think!

Blog at WordPress.com.

Bowen Appétit

Classic, sustainable fare for real life

My French Heaven

Cuisine, Design & Joie de vivre

Bam's Kitchen

Healthy World Cuisine

Bunny Eats Design

Happy things, tasty food and good design

WhitneyBond.com - Easy and flavorful recipes made in 29 minutes or less, in one pot, or in a crock pot!

Easy and flavorful recipes made in 29 minutes or less, in one pot, or in a crock pot!

vinicooksveg

Amazing & fun.........Indian cooking!!

The Best Beer Ever

Beer, Spirits, Alcohol

ENTRÉE the GIANT

Small in Stature, Big in Appetite

Currydemonology

Curry Coz you can !

REMCooks

My Virtual Cookbook to Share My Love and Joy of Food and Cooking One Recipe at a Time

A HUNGRY FOX

Bitches eating way too much and blogging unnecessarily about it.

Trident Hunter

Spearhunting to the Max

veggiezest

Vegan & Vegetarian recipes from around the world

Case of the Munchies

Got a Serious Case of the munchies?... You do now.

Our Little Family Adventure

Our family's adventure to eat healthy whole foods, get in the kitchen together, and enjoy life.

Hot, Cheap & Easy

Of course you can cook. Just follow me!

KolorBlind Mag

The equality & acceptance of all races/ethnicities; the promotion of the Interracial/multiracial life through culture, fashion, language and food…

